PB & J: A Twist on the Classic (Dining Hall)

IMG_6292

This recipe came about almost randomly; all I knew when I entered the dining hall is that I was craving a peanut-butter and jelly sandwich, just like my dad used to pack for me when I was in school…yup, all the way through high school. Somehow, this went from being a simple PB and J to a different kind of peanut-butter sandwich. In an attempt to make this staple in our diets a little bit healthier, I decided to omit the jelly (don’t worry, the world’s not over!) and instead add vanilla-flavored greek yogurt and pineapple to keep some sweetness.Β I hope you enjoy this twist on the classic!

Ingredients:

2 slices of whole wheat or multi-grain bread

1 tbsp crunchy peanut butter

1/3 cup spinach

1 tbsp greek yogurt (any flavor, I used vanilla)

4-5 chunks of pineapple

ΒΌ cup cantaloupe, chopped

1 tsp wheat germ

  1. Spread the peanut butter on one slice of bread. Place all the spinach on top of the peanut butter.
  2. Spread the greek yogurt over the spinach. Sprinkle the wheat germ over the greek yogurt, then place the pineapple and cantaloupe on top. Place the other slice of bread on top, and your sandwich is ready!

Tip: If you grill the pineapple on a panini maker for about a minute, it tastes even better! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

