Ribbon Noodles with Sweet Peppers and Mushrooms (Home)

Since I had a little extra time on my hands over spring break, I chose to make ribbon noodles with alfredo sauce for my family. It was my first time trying both ribbon noodles and homemade alfredo sauce (especially happy with how the alfredo turned out—I’ll definitely be making that more often!)

IMG_8818

IMG_8804

Ingredients:

8 oz of ribbon noodles

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1 cup sliced baby sweet peppers

1 tsp olive oil

Dash of sea salt

Dash of black pepper

1/2 tsp Oregano

Paprika (to taste)

Alfredo Sauce:

http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-creamy-macaroni-and-cheese-on-the-stovetop-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-82588

  1. Place about 6-8 cups of water in a large pot for the noodles to cook. Turn on the gas burner and wait for the water to reach a boil. While you are waiting, you can begin sautéing the vegetables.
  2. Sauté the mushrooms and sweet peppers in a skillet with the olive oil for 5-7 minutes on medium heat. Add a dash of sea salt.
  3. Once the water has reached a boil, place the noodles in the pot. Cook the noodles for the amount of time suggested on the package (I cooked mine for 8 minutes, but if you want them to be more al dente, you can go for 7 minutes.)
  4. Since it was my first time making alfredo sauce, I decided to follow a recipe instead of creating my own: http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-creamy-macaroni-and-cheese-on-the-stovetop-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-82588. I added a dash of black pepper, the oregano, and paprika to this sauce.
  5. Drain the ribbon noodles using a colander and then place onto a serving plate. Drizzle a little bit of olive oil on top so the noodles don’t stick together.
  6. Put the mushrooms and sweet pepper on top of the pasta, and then finish off with the alfredo sauce.

I hope you enjoy this dish! 🙂

One thought on “Ribbon Noodles with Sweet Peppers and Mushrooms (Home)

Leave a Reply

