Melty Pita Pocket

What’s better than Totino’s Pizza Roles?

Sadly, the answer is nothing. I found myself craving these tiny bites of goodness, only to realize that they are actually quite unhealthy for me and that I should probably reduce my intake of them. To snap myself out of my craving, I decided to make a healthier, larger version (larger is always better, of course) of my favorite “pizza pockets” by reducing the amount of salt and increasing the number of veggies that goes into this recipe.

IMG_1891

I was very tempted to add some chopped tomatoes to the mix, but I realized that I should probably keep the water content low to allow the cheese to melt (surprisingly I’ve been applying some lessons from my biology class that I took last year while cooking—fats, in this case the different cheeses—are hydrophobic or “water-hating”. Therefore I chose to omit tomatoes and any other vegetable that might be high in water content, such as bell peppers.) Adding mushrooms seemed like the perfect choice to achieve layers of perfectly melted cheese inside this pita pocket!

I constructed this pita in layers so that you can get a bit of the mushrooms with the cheese in every bite, follow the directions below to find out how to make it!

IMG_1897 (2)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/3 cup mushrooms, sliced

1/4 cup red onions

1/2 tsp pesto mayo

1 tsp olive oil

1 whole wheat pita (about 7-8 inches in diameter. When you stuff the pita, it may look like it’s about to break, but it will definitely decrease in size since the cheese will melt.)

Hot sauce (optional)

  1. Cut off the top segment of the pita (about 2-3 inches from the top). It helps if you choose a fluffy pita so that it won’t break when you’re adding ingredients inside. Drizzle some olive oil on the outside as well as the inside. Spread the pesto mayo inside the pita.
  2. Place some of the cheddar cheese at the bottom of the pita, followed by a layer of mushrooms, then mozzarella cheese and onions. Repeat the layering until you reach the top of the pita pocket.
  3. Lightly press in a panini maker for 20 seconds on each side (if you press too hard the pita will break). Place in a toaster oven for about a minute on medium-high heat or until the cheese has melted.

Remove from the oven and your pita pocket is done! Top with hot sauce, sriracha or a spicy salsa for a satisfying lunch! 🙂

FullSizeRender (1)

2 thoughts on “Melty Pita Pocket

  1. It’s definitely a great comfort food!

    Like

  2. i have to try this at home for lunch

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

