Good Morning Blueberry-Pineapple Toast

Sometimes the best breakfasts are the ones that are light on your stomach and don’t leave you hanging in a food coma. One day I was rushing to class (*correction- everyday I’m running late to class) and I was trying to come up with a feasible and portable breakfast snack that gives me energy- not one that leaves me tired after I’ve finished eating. I craved something more than justΒ a slice of plain bread covered in butter.

IMG_8520

I present to you this open-faced “sandwich”!I absolutely love peanut butter, and I decided to include it on a slice of bread alongside pineapple and blueberries. High in antioxidants, blueberries are a rich source of nutrients that play an important role in the body. The delicate saltiness of the roasted peanuts also contrasts the sweet and slightly soft pineapple.

What you’ll need:

1 slice whole grain bread

2 tsp peanut butter

1 tsp greek yogurt (optional)

1/3-1/2 cup blueberries, washed and dried

1/4 cup pineapple, diced

1 tsp roasted and salted peanuts

Place the bread in a toaster, remove when done and then spread the peanut butter and greek yogurt on one side. Add the blueberries, the little cubes of pineapple, and toss the peanuts over the fruit. This easy breakfast on-the-go is now done!

 

One thought on “Good Morning Blueberry-Pineapple Toast

  1. Easy,quick and good combination of ingredients for wholesome breakfast:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

