Tortilla Wrap with Crispy Arepas (Dining Hall)

IMG_9567

Hi everyone! Sorry I wasn’t able to post this past week, unfortunately I had internet connectivity issues. But the last finals week post is finally here, before I have to go into hibernation!

When I entered the dining hall one afternoon with some friends, arepas were the last thing I expected to see. I’m glad that our dining hall has begun to diversify the choice of foods that it offers to students, mostly because I got to try a new cuisine that day! I have actually never eaten arepas before, so I was excited and also a little bit anxious to try them when they made their appearance at the dining hall. I only used 2 arepas incase I didn’t like them, but feel free to use more, if you can fit them all in your wrap of course! Arepas are made out of cornmeal, and the texture is similar to that of a falafel except it is more dense and less dry. I decided to use them in this wrap because the crispiness of the arepa stands out from the other ingredients. Turns out that I liked the arepas, which prompted me to do a little research on Google…I now know which arepa bars I’ll be hitting up in NYC this summer 🙂

IMG_9568

Ingredients:

1 8-inch white flour tortilla wrap

1 tsp pesto mayo

½ cup mixed greens

¼ cup shredded iceberg lettuce

¼ cup diced tomatoes

2 small arepas

Sprinkle of shredded mozzarella or montery jack cheese (Cotija cheese would also taste good if you’re making this at home!)

3-4 tortilla chips, crushed

2 tbsp salsa

1 tbsp guacamole (optional)

1 tsp sour cream (optional)

IMG_9566

  1. Spread the pesto mayo along the center line of the tortilla. Place the arugula, shredded lettuce, and tomatoes on top of the pesto mayo (if you keep all the ingredients in the center of the wrap, it’ll be easier to fold up later).
  2. Place the arepas next to each other in the center, then the crushed tortilla chips, salsa and the shredded cheese.
  3. Fold the two side flaps of the tortilla toward the center line, and it’s ready to eat! If you want the tortilla be a little crispy, you can grill the wrap for about a minute on a greased skillet or panini maker.
  4. Serve with guacamole and sour cream.

IMG_9571

2 thoughts on “Tortilla Wrap with Crispy Arepas (Dining Hall)

  1. Only 10 more days until we can try it at home!!

    Like

  2. This can be my lunch….. looking forward to your making it. Just looking at it is making my hungry

    Like

Leave a Reply

